Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
fashion plan(MODA)

My London fashion week outfits in pictures: Why I ditched my Nike Air Max for fedora hats and embellished dresses for the weekend

May 1 2017, 07:04am

Posted by fashionplan

Normally I avoid red carpets like the plague. All my friends will tell you that while I may be on TV, I am really not a fan of showbiz events.

However, I have been feeling good recently, I have been working out 4-5 times a week, I have been eating well and I am really getting into my fashion.

Screenshot 2015-09-21 11.59.51
 

Yesterday, it was announced that I am bringing out my own clothing range with In The Style and the last few months has been a sea of material, printed fabrics and a lot of selfies deciding what styles I actually like in clothes.

And suddenly I just get it, I get what all the fuss has been about all these years.

In the past I have draped myself in baggy jumpers and Nike Air Max and this has become my default outfit. Now, don’t get me wrong – my baggy jumpers are going nowhere, but I have started appreciating the value in getting glammed up and after 25 years I feel like I have finally found my perfect styles.

So, over the last week I embraced it and bit the bullet by going to lots of fashions shows as part of London Fashion Week. And I have to say I actually loved it.

Screenshot 2015-09-21 12.00.39

I was really lucky to get invited to some of the best shows and events that London Fashion week has to offer. My first was the very glamorous Cosmopolitan Fashion Fest.

I decided to go with a causal but glam look by wearing my new camouflage shirt dress that forms part of my new range. I wore it with on trend long knee high boots to dress it up a bit and big hair and make up. I was sat on a table with Michelle Keegan, Mark Wright, Millie Mackintosh and Professor Green so I knew I had to pull it out of the bag.

The camouflage trend really hit the catwalks in a big way earlier this year with Rihanna and Kim Kardashian rocking it and it is here to stay. The colours really work for the season with green being a staple on the catwalk and it also works really well with the muted tones that are everywhere at the moment.

Screenshot 2015-09-21 12.00.52
 

The event was great, very glam and fun and I actually for once felt like I belonged there, it’s only taken me 4 years of being in the industry.

Next up was the big one – the Julien MacDonald show on Saturday morning. With Julien being such a high profile British designer, this is one of the big shows of the London Fashion Week schedule and I was so excited to be invited. Julien dressed me for the event and chose me this beautiful grey dress from his latest collection.

Screenshot 2015-09-21 11.59.37

I was really nervous as it is very booby but I think it worked. Although I spent a lot of time worried that I had far more on display than I should have! It is a real party dress and I felt good. The spider webbing crochet was a big trend throughout his collection.

Screenshot 2015-09-21 12.01.28

There was also a dramatic ending to the show as one of the models actually fell and Julien himself caught her as he rocked the runway at the end!

Screenshot 2015-09-21 12.00.12

It was great fun and I loved attending with my MIC pals Rosie Fortescue and Lucy Watson.

Screenshot 2015-09-21 12.01.51

Saturday was a busy day for me as we also filmed a second catwalk show that day for Made In Chelsea. I chose another one of my outfits from my new range. This time I went for a smock dress with a black and white embellished pattern. I then teamed it with a long length waistcoat with a split up the side.

Screenshot 2015-09-21 12.01.39

The waistcoat hit the runways in the spring and it has become the perfect transitional item to take you through from the summer to the winter. For me it is great, as I think it is a real day to night piece that wouldn’t look out of place in the office and then onto a bar.  You could also wear it just as easily with a dress as you could with a slogan t-shirt and jeans. This was a really comfy outfit.

I added a black fedora hat - i have never worn hats in my life but thought I would see what it looked like and I think I just about pulled it off. I am still not sold on hats but I feel like you rock anything at LFW!

Last of the week was the Aspinal show. Again, the British designer shows are always big ones and I knew I had to get it right.

I chose my favourite piece from my new collection, it is this floral dress with a T bar collar. It is just so easy to wear, I feel really girly in it and again you can dress up or down with accessories and the right shoes. I teamed it with black knee high boots again mainly because it was pouring down and freezing on Monday and I needed some warmth!

Screenshot 2015-09-21 11.59.19

Screenshot 2015-09-21 11.58.56

Anyway, let me know what you think of my looks and you can pre-order my new collection with In The Style here: www.inthestyle.com

Binky xx

Comment on this post